Happy Birthday To Me…

When I went to work on October 25, 2012 I was full of hope I would have a wonderful day and everybody would congratulate me.
But it started with me taking a wrong turn when walking straight (As I walked to work from valter’s place). So, I was runnning a little late and it was the worst day to be late, as Åsa and I were supposed to go to an empty hall which will be reconstructed to become a new storage for the grey literature department and the faculty libraries. But it turned out very fine, I just cuaght them when they were leaving and hopped into the car.

We went to that place and looked at everything. It is amazingly big and there are soem office rooms and a grage place. Very interesting. Åsa compared it to her house, which would fit in this place 20 times…
After that we looked at the storages for newspapers. That was interesting. Motst of the newspapers are extremely opld and very vulnerable but storaging them properly is not the easiest possibilty. ALso the guest appearnce of a dead rat was quite fun.

Back in the office I got a rather traditional intern task: Copying. I copied a certain article ten times and sent the copies according to a list.
We then looked at the new search database a little more and discovered some more flaws. I still do not fully understand what the visual search is good for as it is also not self-explaining. I understand parts of it (you can get an overview of what fields your search is related to and choose and limit it down from that. But I don’t see much sense in the rest of it… Anyhow…)

Do you remember the Libguides I looked at in my first week at UBT?
I was suppsed to work on that BerlinGuide, Sebastian had made to learn how to use the tools, but I wouldn’t knwo what to add. So, Åsa gave me the task to start a completekly new guide and I chose the topic “Walt Disney”. I looked at the tools and plazed around a little and started collecting ideas and realizing some of them.

In the afternoon I was heading for the student council to get information on possiblities for me to come back to Lund and study here. Too bad nobody was there as it ahd been declared in a mail I had received from them. So, I went back home, finding out that contradicting my calculations my Jojo-card was empty. Hmm…

My birthday cake!

My birthday cake!

At home I met Stefano who mysteriously instructed me not to look into things because I could find something, and he and Alejandro wouldn’t want to tell me about it before Friday. I got curious and scared and got thought like: Did the break my Little Mermaid Disney store mug? In the late evening they would reveal they had baked a birthday cake for me and showed it. It is supercute and I can’t wait to eat it.

As Alejandro was interrupting business between Stefano and me, we had to head to Alejandro’s place. Because it was the day of his move! I’ve never experienced such an easy move. He only owns a computer and clothes in Sweden, so we could easily pack it and take a cab to his new place loading things off. He’s moving in with a single mom and her weight-year-old daughter (who btw spoke better English than several of my English teachers in Germany), another girl and a French bulldog.
Accroding to his breed this dog is as ugly as can be but supercute and playful.

Having had unloaded Alejandro’s stuff the three of us headed back to our place by foot. We stopped by at Ica and got the ingredients for my birthday dinner party tomorrow. I have to thank Stefano again for paying everything (due to me being broke for a change…). He was also quite skeptical about my plan on serving English breakfast for my dinner party.

Before hitting the bed we watched “The Mangler“. Although we fell asleep with that crappy horror movie while watching.

This post is titled after “Happy Birthday” by Stevie Wonder, a song traditionally played at German birthday parties.

Leave a comment